Makeshift Stars

At the top of your apartment building, the city stretched on before our very eyes. I wanted to see the stars but the night sky was not clear, so you brought me up here and told me to imagine the city lights were stars.

The silence that followed was comforting as the back of our hands were brushing against each other. It was almost midnight when all the city lights suddenly went off but returned a heartbeat later. 

Maybe I was seeing things so I looked at you and asked, “Did all the lights just went off and came back right after?”

You took this into consideration. “That,” you agreed and turned to smile at me. You grabbed my hand, gave it a gentle squeeze and returned your gaze to our makeshift stars. “Or maybe we both blinked at the same time.”

Author: yassywrites

Just a fangirl who likes to read, write, and draw.

Leave a Reply

