See you. Love you.

He scooped his bag and stood to leave. “I’ll see you after your Astronomy class?”

I was probably lost in a daze, I wasn’t sure, because before I could stop myself, I blurted out, “Yeah. See you. Love you.”

The very second those words reached my ears, the very moment my brain processed what had just happened, my eyes widened and my cheeks heated. Holy mother of all things holy. I wasn’t sure if I really did say the words out loud but the collective gasps around the table confirmed it. And it was only then did I remember that we had an audience. I tuned it all out almost instantly, forgetting my friends who witnessed my little ordeal, forgetting my half eaten sandwich, forgetting the cafeteria buzz in the background, since the only thing that I could hear and feel at this very moment was the loud and fast beating of my heart.

Oh holy mother of all things holy indeed.

I caught his gaze and found him blinking from complete and utter confusion as if he wasn’t sure what he heard actually came from my lips. I don’t how long he just stood there, trying to take it all in like I was.

He was frozen and rooted on his place, he then opened his mouth to speak.

Ohmygod. I don’t want to hear it.

I stood abruptly knocking my chair over in the process, and beat him to whatever he was about to say.

“I didn’t mean that- No, wait.” I paused, instantly regretting it. “Of course I meant what I said but I didn’t expect to say it here… No. Ah fuck. There are a lot of people and when you… it was just us and shit words I need words that can form decent sentences. Just don’t get me wrong, I do love you, okay? No questions asked. No doubt whatsoever. I just can’t believe I said ‘love you’ when I wanted to say ‘i love you’. Don’t give me that look, there’s a difference between those two! But, ugh.” My voice was shaking. I was at a loss. I didn’t know what to say. I found myself staring at the floor. “This isn’t how I pictured it, damn it. Nevermind. Yes.” I sighed and had the courage to finally look up at him, his expression unreadable. “I… love you. Fuck it. I think I’ve fallen for you.”

-Y

Author: yassywrites

Just a fangirl who likes to read, write, and draw.

Leave a Reply

